Congratulations to all the winners in the 2016 National Songwriting competition!

Yesterday all the winners in our National Songwriting Competition (NSC) were announced! You can go here to listen to them. We had so many fabulous songs – it was so hard to choose….

Did you know our NSC is the longest running and most successful children’s songwriting competition in Australia? Entry is free, with over $15,000 in prize money shared between the winners, to be used for musical equipment or tuition.

Since its inception the NSC has received almost 30,000 original songs from school children across Australia. Don Spencer, Founder and CEO of the ACMF, launched this competition fourteen years ago to inspire creativity, imagination and self-expression in children.

Don said, “It’s so important that children are encouraged to be creative through songwriting. I was thrilled by the quality of this year’s entries, and the judging of the NSC was held at APRA’s headquarters in Sydney, with entries judged by music industry experts. Congratulations to all the winners in the different age groups in this years’ song competition, and particular congratulations to the Overall Winner, Lily Ward, for her song ‘Joan’”.

A huge thank you to our sponsors, APRA/ AMCOS, Orbitsound and AMPAL, and our judges, Peter Northcote, George Ellis, Katie Hardyman and Lucia Doll.